Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Regulation of Pawnbrokers
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, , 99811 -0806
Application fee: $200
Biennial license fee: $800
The pawnbroker licensing program is administered by the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development adopts regulations to carry out laws governing pawnbrokers in Alaska. It makes final licensing decisions and takes disciplinary actions against people who violate licensing laws. This program was enacted by the Alaska State Legislature in 2010 and went into effect on July 1, 2011.
Applicant must have completed at least a 2 year college / university degree OR have at least 6 months experience in financial transactions, the sale or puchase of goods, or maintenance of an inventory. The State also requires a background check, available thru the local Department of Public Safety and submitted with the application. Licensed pawnbrokers can not be prohibited from possession of a firearm under federal or state law.
It is not required that every employee of a pawnshop be licensed; however the business should have at least one licensee available to supervise and monitor the employees and transactions.
Number of Licenses on December 31, 2015
Last updated January 2016.