Optometrist

Licensing Authority

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Board of Examiners in Optometry
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK, 99811 -0806
phone: 907.465.2695
fax: 907.465.2974
email: connie.petz@alaska.gov


Fees

Non-refundable application fee $100
Exam $100
License $480
Biennial renewal $480


Requirements

Applicants must have graduated from an accredited school of optometry and passed both a written and practical exam administered by the National Board of Examiners in Optometry and a state law exam administered by the Alaska Board of Examiners in Optometry. Board requires completion of:

  • 23 hour nontopical therapeutic pharmaceutical agent course or examination approved by the board on the treatment and management of ocular disease and
  • 7 hours of an optometry and nontopical therapeutic pharmaceutical agent injections course

Continuing education is required for renewal.


Number of Licenses on December 31, 2015

198

Last updated January 2016.