Mortician

Licensing Authority

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Mortuary Science Section
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK, 99811 -0806
phone: 907.465.5470
fax: 907.465.2974
email: license@alaska.gov


Fees

Embalmers and Funeral Directors:
Application $50
State law exam $60
National exam fees paid direct to ICFSEB
License $175
Biennial renewal $175

Establishment fees:
Application $50
Permit $175
Biennial renewal $175

Trainee permits:
Application $50
Permit $65

Disposition of remains not requiring an embalming permit:
Initial permit $50
Biennial renewal $50


Requirements

Embalmers must have graduated from an accredited school of mortuary science, completed atleast one year of apprenticeship, and passed the national and state laws exams. Funeral directors must have completed at least one year of college, one year of apprenticeship under an Alaska-licensed supervisor, and passed the arts section of the national exam, as well as the state laws exam. In lieu of the apprenticeship requirement, embalmers and funeral directors may submit proof of a current license in another state and verification of at least one year of practice elsewhere. Trainees must be at least 18 years of age and may renew their permit(s) one time only. All funeral director or embalmer licenses andfuneral establishment permits expire on December 31 of all even years.


Number of Licenses on December 31, 2015

Embalmers: 46
Funeral directors: 56
Funeral establishments: 29
Licensed for the care and disposal of human remains: 3
Mortuary trainees: 3

Last updated January 2016.