Marine Pilot

Licensing Authority

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Alaska Board of Marine Pilots
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK, 99811 -0806
phone: 907.465.2548
fax: 907.465.2974
email: crystal.dooley@alaska.gov


Fees

Deputy Marine Pilot:

  • License and exam application fee $1,000
  • All other applications $100
  • Extension of route exam $200
  • All other exams $50

Marine Pilot and Deputy Marine Pilot:

  • Licenses $2,500
  • Biennial renewal $2,500

Vessel Agent:

  • Initial Registration: $1100 ($1000 registration fee and $100 nonrefundable application fee)
  • Biennial renewal $1,000

Requirements

Marine Pilot and Deputy Marine Pilot:
Candidates for a Deputy Marine Pilot License are required to have one of several levels of Coast Guard license and/or requisite experience, be at least 25 years old, a U.S. citizen, and acquire their federal pilot endorsement for their area of interest and membership in a pilotage association training program. Completion of the training program and requisite exams are required. Three years of additional training are required to establish eligibility for a Marine Pilot license, plus one additional year if an apprentice. Special endorsements are required for very large crude carriers and training pilot. Contact the Marine Pilot Coordinator for specific requirements. A physical exam, continuing education and proof of recent piloting experience are required for renewal.

Vessel Agent:
Refer to statute 12 AAC 56.980 Registration of Vessel Agents


Number of Licenses on December 31, 2015

Deputy marine pilots: 4
Marine pilots: 73
Registered vessel agents: 9

Last updated January 2016.