Child Care Provider (Child Care Home)
Alaska Department of Health & Social Services
Division of Public Assistance
Child Care Program Office
3601 C Street Suite 140
Anchorage, AK, 99503
No fees or exams are required.
Administrators must be at least 18 years of age; be of good character and reputation and have the knowledge, skills, and ability to care for children and be able to work with family members, dept. staff, community agencies, and staff (if applicable). Provide four references. Be cleared through a background check which includes fingerprinting, as well as a review of criminal justice information, child protection records, and past adverse child care licensing actions. Verify they do not have a physical health, behavioral health, or domestic violence problem that poses a significant risk to the health, safety, or welfare of children. Administrators must also meet continuing education requirements.
Caregivers must be 18 years or older, except an individual between the ages of 14-17, may provide care if in close physical proximity to, and under the supervision of an adult caregiver. Caregivers in a Child Care Home must complete 12 hours of training annually in addition to orientation and First Aid & CPR training. Part time caregivers in a Child Care Home must complete 6 hours of training annually in addition to the orientation and First Aid & CPR training. The child care facility's practices and the practices of the facility's employees or volunteers shall conform to statutes, child care licensing regulations, and the facility's policies.
Number of Licenses on December 31, 2013
110 homes licensed by the State of Alaska
159 homes licensed by the Municipality of Anchorage
Last updated May 2014.